Sephiroth Materia-lizes into DEATH BATTLE

DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews: Sephiroth Materia-lizes into DEATH BATTLE

The one winged angel is here to bring gifts of despair to his opponent in DEATH BATTLE!

Binge Mode

More DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews

See All DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews Videos

Other Videos You'll Like

Comments (67)

  • Gr81

    1 week ago

    Yeah, I just compared Sephiroth and Vergil on the VSbattles wiki, and Sephiroth stomps Vergil hard. Apparently, Sephiroth is Dwarf Star level while Vergil is around Town level

    • InfinitySlime

      5 days ago

      yeah that just means don't compare them on VS Battle Wiki.

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      5 days ago

      The VS Battles Wiki is a useless source. Its power scaling is outright nonsensical at best and fallacious at worst.

    • Kyouma95

      2 days ago

      To be fair, Outskirts Battledome lists Sephiroth as higher than that and they’re generally considered a more reputable source by the vs community. 


      Not saying they are right, but it is a matter that needs closer inspection. 

  • TheFlamePikachu

    1 week ago

    i want the next death battle to be Cyborg vs War Machine

  • Sonication99 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    How do you guys think the fight between Sephiroth and Vergil will start? I imagine it would start with Sephiroth looking at his mother, Jenova in that tube, but Vergil comes in and destroys his mother for whatever reason, and Sephiroth gets pissed and the fight between the two begins.

    • InfinitySlime

      5 days ago

      Likely because Jenova looks like a demon to him.


      Or just Sephiroth is buying some of his favorite shampoo but turns out the maker of the shampoo was a demon and Vergil slayed it so it gets discontinued so Sephiroth goes out to hunt the devil hunter, coincidentally Vergil happens to enter the shop (to buy some hair gel).

  • AkumaTh FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Anyone else hope they do the same thing as He-Man and whenever Sephiroth does something awesome the Choir says "SEPHIROTH"!

  • Ashtonwise FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Next Week: 

    Vergil the devil may cry into Death Battle!


    XD


    Also, I want Sephiroth to have this fight.  I do, I do so bad, but I have been burned before.


    Can we please get a Black Panther Vs Cyborg Death Battle though?  Genius level black men with incredible athletic feats born into privilege? Seems one of the best pairings you guys could honestly do.

    • Mr_LRB

      1 week ago

      As for Cyborg, I'm not really sure about the whole "born into privilege" thing, especially compared to T'Challa (son of a king vs. son of a scientist, not too much similarity there.) I've always thought that War Machine would be a better opponent for him.  

    • InfinitySlime

      5 days ago

      If we went by somebody similar to Cyborg it's Deathlok. but War machine would be cool.

  • g1Zanon

    1 week ago

    I hope they go with the original sephiroth the one who was wiping people out and couldn't be touched.


    The only reason he got hit was due to cloud stabbing him in the back without defense up because he was googling the tank with him mom in it.


    But sephiroth original couldn't be touched he was a sword master.

    • happy_potato FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      He couldn't be touched because everyone else was weak. 

      When everyone got stronger, Cloud could solo Seph.

  • Swonic FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    The info about his hair...Why is that there?

    • MaxOfFewTrades FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      Because its funny?

    • Roxierocks FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Games Writer

      1 week ago

      Why not?

    • Shadowwrath FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      The bigger question is why does it even exist in the first place?

    • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      Because everything FF4 and beyond has been about the hair. You can thank Cecil for that standard.

    • ZackOsbourne FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Just a Nobody

      1 week ago

      It was a dumb side thing in Crisis Core where various Soldier First Class members had fan clubs, complete with trivia newsletters. It's been a long time so I don't know how you join them, or which ones you even can join, but Zack Fair had one too.

    • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

      1 week ago

      @edd218 Dude, the hair has been a thing since the first Final Fantasy. Take a look at the hair of warrior/fighter.

    • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      3 days ago

      @lunchbox893 psh, WoL has nothing on Cecil's white gorgeous locks

  • majorm117 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Legend says every time someone ends a sentence with the name Sephioth a Latin quire sings his name.

    • Mr_LRB

      1 week ago

      Me: Hmmm........ So I just have to end a sentence with "Sephiroth"?

                                                 

                                                                                         SEPHIROTH!!!!!!


      Holy shit, it actually works. 

    • TheFlamePikachu

      1 week ago

      does this work?

      To see if this sentence will now end with Sephiroth

    • TheFlamePikachu

      1 week ago

      it didn't work

  • Animegx43

    1 week ago

    Been having a hard time looking forward to this one.  Not because I'm not into either series, but so many people have been simply stating that their planet busters, solar system busters, or just plain nonsense that I really can't take anyone serious. Reminds me of people making "planet-level" claims for Tifa.

    I usually only take these comments with a grain of salt, but my body can only have too much salt.

    • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      Well, if it helps, ScrewAttack themselves actually referred to Sephiroth as a planet buster in Link vs. Cloud, so it's partially right. Partially. The big problem with the claim is that Sephiroth is only technically a planet buster thanks to one attack he has, the Supernova, which takes time to prepare. He's not a casual planet buster like, say, Broly. He pretty much has to put his all into the Supernova to destroy a planet.

    • DudebladeX FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      *Insert salty "Tifa/Cloud got robbed of a victory comment here.*

    • Animegx43

      1 week ago

      ^^Honestly, that helps alot

    • happy_potato FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      There's also the fact that Supernova is just him lobbing a meteor into the sun and the original version of that attack was more ambiguous.

      I think they changed Supernova to Sunburst anyway which was the equivalent of a giant pillar of flame he loves to spam.

    • InfinitySlime

      5 days ago

      Well Tifa is stronger than what ScrewAttack had portrayed but nowehere near Planet-level, she loses a lot from what I've seen (Poor Tifa).


      But yeah Sephiroth ain't exactly Planet-level. One planet cannot survive an entire Supernova so I kinda doubt it was an actual supernova otherwise everybody'd be dead.

  • masterchiefpony

    1 week ago

    do you think screwattack are going make the full episode with the song one wing angel


    death battle suggestion

    luna (mlp) vs freddy kreuger

    discord (mlp) vs genie (aladin) vs impossible man (marvel) vs Mister Mxyztplk (dc) vs Wyrm (tmnt)

    amelia (wakfu) vs poison ivi (dc)

    killer croc (dc) vs Leatherhead (tmnt)

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      Probably a remixed version written by Brandon Yates to better match the events of the animation, and to infringe on one less copyrighted work.

  • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

    1 week ago

    Fun fact, from a strictly game stat perspective, a LOT of Sephiroth's power is in Masamune. The numbers on that thing are INSANE.

  • g1lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    I honestly never got past Disc 1 of Final Fantasy 7. Plus I'm not particularly interested in going back to it. Also, I never played a Devil May Cry game in my life, so I really can't get particularly interested in this fight. 

    Ehh, should still be a good match though.

  • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Interesting fact, Wiz's new screensaver was animated and mocapped by Torrian.

    • Shadowwrath FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      Not sure who I should feel bad for, Wiz or Torrian.

  • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Rooting for Sephiroth, okay with Vergil winning. It's been a while since I've played any of Seph's related games, so how is the Masamune when it comes to durability? Vergil's Yamato is your classic cut-through-anything sword, and if that washing pole was to be sundered Seph would likely end up in dire straits.


    Also, love the discussion about what goes into Sephiroth's hair. If only other FF characters drew inspiration from that fabulous, magnificent mane of white.


    Personal Suggestions:

    -Gordon Freeman vs Isaac Clarke

    -Scott Pilgrim vs Travis Touchdown

    -Sokka vs Jaune

    -Frog vs Sparkster

    -Nemesis vs Subject Delta

    • Ustpatrick FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      the masamune is indestructible

    • InfinitySlime

      5 days ago

      @Ustpatrick

      Indestructible why?

  • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Add Sephiroth hair to the random things Wiz studies for research along with dissecting goombas and analysing turtle and echidna penises

  • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Hopefully they remember Sephiroth fights left-handed during the fight animation. I'd hate to see obviously backward character models like in Goku vs Superman 2.

    • ZackOsbourne FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Just a Nobody

      1 week ago

      Sephiroth is canonically ambidextrous, but prefers his left hand. It'll look weird but it's not offensively non-canon if they forget.

  • RWBYfanRvB FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    First off, GODDAMMIT BARB! Second, this battle is going to be awesome! Third, XD HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! The screensaver spoiler.

  • Ustpatrick FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    love the video title don't you dare change it 

  • CSLMuramasa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Demon Blade

    1 week ago

    As overrated as Sephiroth is I actually think he has this. Assuming Vergil is similar to Dante, he has the speed advantage though it's not a lopsided as you'd think. But are insanely durable but in different ways. And Yamato is a better sword than Masamune but it gets weaker as its wielder gets weaker. Vergil has other weapons he can use but Sephiroth has magic that tops any of them as far as I know. So unless next week's preview shows something good I think Sephiroth will win. Of course I also though Cloud and Tifa would win and look how those fights turned out. And a bunch of angry Final Fantasy fans start throwing incorrect facts at me in 3... 2... 1...

    • DarkTempler7 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      I think it might come down to versatility more then anything. Vergil, from what I understand, doesn't have the same armory as Dante, which depending on how he scales to Dante's physical attributes in the later games might be a major factor. Personally I'd rather Vergil win because I think he deserves it more, but I'm fully prepared for Sephiroth to pull the win if it comes to that.

  • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

    1 week ago

    While it seems relatively unlikely, I wonder if they will be using Sephiroth's Rebirth and Seraph forms.

  • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

    1 week ago

    And thus, Sephiroth achieved immortality... by dying.

    • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      He doesn't need Phoenix Downs because he is one

  • LegendaryNob FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    I know Sephiroth and Cloud are called mercenaries but do they ever actually get paid??? They always seemed more like rent-a-cops than mercenaries to me.

    • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

      1 week ago

      They get paid in spoils of war, the loot that a killed enemy drops. Go through the dead guy's pockets to see if he has anything good, Merc 101.

  • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    BELLS, FROGS, BIG CHERRIES

    PETER PAN, MAGIC CHEESE

    BELLS, FROGS, BIG CHERRIES

    PETER PAN, MAGIC CHEESE

    SEPHIROTH

    SEPHIROTH

    • LordTerminal FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      I always heard it as 


      ANDROSS SYMPHONY 

      BEE MCNEIL

      GRANITE DEAR

    • venom3421 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      You sir...just made my morning lol

    • Kyouma95

      1 week ago

      I heard part of the song as:

      VERY, VERY DIRTY SOCKS;

      VERY, DIRTY SEPHIROTH

      repeated several times

  • DudebladeX FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Title isn't as great as Thor Ragna-Rocks into Death Battle, but it's still good nonetheless.

  • SomeCyborgNinja FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    That pun gives me dis pear.

    • g1lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      You gonna eat dat pear?

  • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

    1 week ago

    It's a good pun, but I feel like there's a better one out there.

  • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    Okay, that pun is amazing. The pressure is on Vergil to even try to match that.


    Will we also have a discussion of how much hair gel goes into maintaining his weird L-shaped bangs? He must dump them in roofing sealant daily.

  • Sonication99 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    If Sephiroth loses this battle, this may be his Final Fantasy. Ha, see what I did there?

    • DarkTempler7 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      1 week ago

      If he losses, I hope that's the ending pun.

  • PokeSEGA64

    1 week ago

    We have officially topped "Ragna-Rocks" as the best title pun. Nothing will ever transcend this.

  • AztecEmperor FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    1 week ago

    please do not change this title 

  • Shadowwrath FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    2 weeks ago

    GOD DAMMIT BARB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was... No! Just. NO!!! Bad title! BAD!!!

  • Yoshirocks92

    2 weeks ago

    Ok just the title for Sephiroth's preview alone is really funny since that is a really good pun.