McGruff the Crime Dog Takes a Bite Out of DEATH BATTLE

DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews: McGruff the Crime Dog Takes a Bite Out of DEATH BATTLE

McGruff the Crime Dog is ready to give his opponent a ruff time in Death Battle!

Binge Mode

More DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews

See All DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews Videos

Other Videos You'll Like

Comments (36)

  • parlbyE

    3 weeks ago

    Your forecast for the rest of the season?


    Episode 84: Freddy Fazbear VS Chuck E. Cheese


    Episode 85: Cathy VS Amy Rose


    Episode 86: Wario VS T.W. Barker


    Episode 87: Jimmy Neutron VS Cell


    Episode 88: Mickey Mouse VS Sanji


    Episode 89: Sly Cooper VS Cat Noir


    Episode 90: Neptune VS Sash Lilac


    Episode 91 (finale): Craig Skistimas VS Ben Singer

  • colespock FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    3 weeks ago

    OK, so no "official" rank with the police means, I'll bet anyway, that he doesn't carry a sidearm. That means 6 foot dog or not Smoky is a FUCKING BEAR... so yeah I think I'm going to change my vote.

  • RandomChineseGuy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    3 weeks ago

    Hmmm....with these two safety endorsing anthropomorphic mascots going at; how about going opposite with those "Raving" Rabbids fighting those "Despicable" Minions?

    • Sonication99 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      3 weeks ago

      I heard in a Death Battle Cast that Ben, should he have to do such a battle, would go insane in making such a battle. In other words, it's a battle he doesn't want to do.

  • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    So, I want to point something out with McGruff's speed that I hope they bring up in the full episode. McGruff could only go at the speed they mentioned if he goes on all fours. So McGruff likely can't run that fast, because his arms likely are not fit for the job since they are that of a human.

    • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

      4 weeks ago

      In that case, Smokey's speed also becomes a moot point because he also moves like a human.

    • Ustpatrick FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      3 weeks ago

      Your making an assumption that mcgruff needs to be on all fours to run at top speed but how do you know that is the case he is bipedal so he wouldn't need to be on all fours to run at top speed.

    • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      3 weeks ago

      @Ustpatrick No. I'm saying that McGruff's top speed is not that of a bloodhound's, as he is bipedal, and therefore cannot run as fast as a bloodhound because he can't go on all fours and run as effectively as a normal bloodhound. He likely is at HIS fastest when he's running with only his legs, but his fastest likely doesn't match that of a bloodhound's.


      I'm not even trying to detract McGruff for the sake of Smokey, but it's silly to assert that McGruff is as fast a normal bloodhound when he clearly isn't a normal bloodhound, since he's humanoid. I think it's also silly that they're doing the same for Smokey, speed-wise. Now, the biting parts still make sense. I just think running speed on two legs can't be compared to running speed on four legs.

  • WheelJackson FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    Do Wario (Mario franchise) vs Roadhog (Overwatch).

    • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      Roadhog dies.

  • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

    4 weeks ago

    I think McGruff has this one. He's faster than Smokey by about 10 mph, he's got the stronger bite by about 200 pounds (it takes about 4000 newtons to shatter bones, roughly 4 and half newtons to 1 pound of bite force, which puts mcgruff at about 900 pounds of bite force, compared to a black bear maximum of 700 pounds) he's got better a better sense of smell and hearing and he can jump 10 feet in the air.

    • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      3 weeks ago

      it depends on whether it's a human bone or a bear bone

    • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

      3 weeks ago

      It's not a matter of bone density, it's a matter of force. 900 > 700. Whether it actually could shatter smokey's bones is debatable, but the fact that mcgruff has the more powerful bite is not.

  • Monster_Society FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    Captain Marvel (DC Comics version) VS. Thor

    The Atom VS. Ant-Man
    Aquaman VS. Namor the Sub-Mariner
    Vampirella VS. Blade – (It’s time for a Vampire BAT-tle!)

  • CSLMuramasa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Demon Blade

    4 weeks ago

    Going with McGruff. Also don't think it'll matter but: McGruff fights crime, Smokey fights wildfires. Except 90% of wildfires are caused by people and while accidents do happen most are caused by stupid people doing illegal shit. Besides the obvious arson there's also setting off fireworks where they're illegal, not having a spark arrester on an OHV, starting a campfire at the bottom of a hill covered with dead plants in the middle of a drought like a dumbass. Smokey falls under McGruff's domain. Though apparently neither are law enforcement officers.

  • magus25 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    Simple fight here dog vs bear. My money is on the bear.

  • Animegx43

    4 weeks ago

    That dog can sell anything.

  • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    My body is ready for the full episode next week.


    Also, none of my usual suggestions, but rather a question for whoever is passing by: John Carpenter's The Thing vs The Blob in a battle of extraterrestrial horrors that seek to add all life to themselves. Is that too far from what Death Battle usually does? They could certainly research and analyze it but I'm unsure how they'd tackle it from a fight animation perspective.

    • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      I think it would be a fight that would be good but would never happen. It sounds like an absolute nightmare to animate with the amount of shape-shifting going on. If Torrian or Jetz were to be tasked with it, I think either would have a stroke. A lot of time would be spent on two characters that are rather niche. Best to leave that to a DB cast.

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      @Raxxel That's about the answer I was expecting. Only way I could see it being done is if they got a third party to do a stop-motion battle; the Blob's roots are there and the Thing would work fairly well in it. A stop-motion battle... there's a novelty if I've ever heard one.


      It is rather niche, I suppose, but both are more recognizable than some of the characters we've gotten on this show.

    • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      @KingJotun A stop motion battle would complete my life.

  • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    Gotta admit, McGruff is actually a decent singer.

    • lunchbox893 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Self-Named King of Zing

      4 weeks ago

      Define "decent." I had to take my headphones during Crack & Cocaine.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      lunchbox893 

      My definition usually amounts to "Better than Bieber". A low standard, perhaps, but a surprisingly hard one to surpass as I've come to notice (Sadly). If nothing else, he at least get's to the "Entertainingly bad" mark.

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      3 weeks ago

      At least McGruff doesn't autotune, I suppose.

  • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    I don't think McGruff's gonna have this, even with his "Circle of Respect" force-field

  • edd218 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    I expected this preview to end with talking about McGruff's talk on gun safety and then Boomstick accidentally firing his gun on himself

  • DarkTempler7 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    In all honesty, I'm more interested in learning some of the crazy things these to have been in then I am the actual fight. Though I'm sure it'll be glorious as well.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      Frankly, I think that's half the appeal of any Death Battle.

    • DarkTempler7 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      Yup. My favorite ones are when I've never heard of either combatants.

  • LordTerminal FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    You used the appropriate tag line. All is right with the world.

  • MajorM117 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    A good boy with nothing left to lose

  • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    Title is accurate, since this battle is gonna be so good that it's a crime.


    Yes, I punned on both previews. Go big or go home.

    • Shadowwrath FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 weeks ago

      And as I said on the other preview, GOD DAMMIT, BARB!

  • Sonication99 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 weeks ago

    You know what would be funny? What would be funny would be if the Death Battle between Smokey and McGruff ended like this: They somehow realize they are in a Death Battle, and they don't like it, and they team up to turn the fight into a PSA against Death Battle. I can see it now...


    Smokey: Only you can prevent Death Battles.


    Mcgruff: Take a bite out of Death Battle.

    • CSLMuramasa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Demon Blade

      3 weeks ago

      If not for Deadpool vs Pinkie Pie I'd agree. I think it'll be a regular Death Battle but after the analysis it cuts to both of them fine and there's something along the lines of "We had a lot of fun here on Death Battle. But we're fictional characters. In real life, violence is never the answer. And if you try to solve your problem with violence, it doesn't matter how the fight ends. You're the real loser."