Portgas D. Ace Flares into DEATH BATTLE!

DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews: Portgas D. Ace Flares into DEATH BATTLE!

The son of the most famous pirate in One Piece is eager to burst onto the scene and turn his opponent into ashes-

Binge Mode

More DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews

See All DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews Videos

Other Videos You'll Like

Comments (85)

  • Mr_LRB

    4 months ago

    So, evidently, Ace's body is made out of fire. [puts on chef hat] Hey, Natsu! Lunch is ready! 

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      No, it can shift between intangible fire and standard human. God, does nobody understand one piece?

    • Mr_LRB

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy Never seen One Piece. I was joking based on what I had heard from other people. 

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Mr_LRB Trust me, it's better to  do one's own research on the subject. 

  • edominguez91 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I love my boi Ace but he has no chance against Natsu.

    • knightphury

      4 months ago

      Natsu is getting revenge in this fight 

  • NorthernBryte FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    How about a Tribute to the Terribles: Captain Kirk (Star Trek 1966) VS Batman (Batman 1966). The Best of the Worst fighting. :D

  • LOUKI10 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Honestly I think Natsu is going to eat Ace. Before you "He is made of blah blah blah" I think Natsu will eat Ace thinking he is made only of fire and then blood gushes.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      The animators did say this battle will have an incredibly gruesome death. The only way I can see that is if Ace explodes Natsu from inside or if Natsu goes straight zombie trying to eat Ace. And the first outcome seems more likely.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Unless Natsu has weird unhinging snake jaws, I doubt that'll happen.

    • LOUKI10 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @TKO-san I doubt it, Natsu "eating" fire isn't eaten like that.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      I know, but he couldn't really eat Ace in a way that wouldn't be detrimental to himself, unless he decided to eat Ace's true form which is human.


      That, and slurping up fire like noodles wouldn't be gruesome in the slightest.

    • Mr_LRB

      4 months ago

      Natsu "eating" fire could actually be better described as him inhaling it through his mouth (after all, fire isn't exactly a solid substance). But your thing would totally be an awesome death.  

    • LOUKI10 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @TKO-san you did see how I described the death? That seems pretty gruesome.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      I was actually responding to Lizardguy's statement about the unhinging jaw thing.

  • LOUKI10 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Guess Ace is gonna die again.

  • N0vice FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Here's my opinion: Natsu eats Ace. End of story.

  • HOMBREoscuro FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Capt Kirk vs Han Solo

  • TRSChaos FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I think Ace will lose. Ace was killed by the lava dude. Ace cannot swim, i dont know about Natsu as I dont watch Fairy Tail. Ace ability isnt great, unlike Sabo.

  • Sephiroth12285 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    While I don't care who wins (I usually just enjoy the fights more for the entertainment than anything else), but I hope their fight will leave the battlefield in flames XD. (A terrible attempt at a pun I know, but I just want an awesome fight regardless of whoever is expected to win.)


    "Not twice in a row Wiz." glad to see Boomstick wised up lol.  

  • alpha_mike FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Northern Assassin

    4 months ago

    Natsu can't be hurt by fire, so....

    • g1Geomancer

      4 months ago

      Yes he can

    • alpha_mike FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Northern Assassin

      4 months ago

      in very specific cases, such as god slaying flames, he can be hurt, but when he faced totomaru in the phantom lord arc they acknowledged that neither of them could be hurt by flames

    • 8492nd FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      But Ace is completely immune to physical damage, with a few exceptions.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Ace is immune to fire, but he isnt immune to lightning, and theoretically hotter fire. Either way in this battle, if they use fire it can only help Natsu. The only fire that has hurt natsu is gold slaying fire magic, which Ace does not have. Natsu has this 1.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      Ace wouldn't be susceptible to lightning and he isn't weak to "hotter fire". He is weak to magma which is molten minerals, not a plasma, that suffocates fire.

    • alpha_mike FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Northern Assassin

      4 months ago

      [sarcastic] well this should be fun

  • thrawn92 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Not much in the way of information regarding Ace, but because of the fact that Natsu can EAT fire, I doubt that Ace will win.

    • g1Geomancer

      4 months ago

      Luffy tried to eat Crocodile and he just flew out.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Oh here is that old and really misinformed argument again. Look, I don't know who is gonna win, but I know it is as simple as "Eating Ace".

    • 8492nd FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Logia users physical body still exists, the exact method of how they work isn't known, but he's still a human being made of flesh and blood, When is power's are nullified by sea stone, Blackbeard or Haki, the fire is by passed and his physical form is reached.

    • thrawn92 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      I just mean to say that whatever fire Ace can dish out, Natsu can easily absorb and enhance his own attacks. 

    • LOUKI10 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy it kind of is that simple.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @LOUKI10 No, it really isn't. Ace can SHIFT between elemental and non-elemental states. Instant shifting, if Natus tries, Ace can just shift back to human and punch him. I am not saying that guarantees any one result over another, but I am saying it is not that easy.

  • Nogisaka FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Natsu will win this simply because he can generate and handle hotter fire than Ace can.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      Ace has been calced with a much higher energy output than

      Natsu through passively raising the temperature of Drum Island around
      50C and matching Aokiji's output.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Natsu has melted clothes, stone, and even metal while drastically changing the heat. Natsu can also wield lightning. Where does it say Ace has fire as hot as Aokijis lava? Aokijis lava being hotter is the reason Ace died.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      Aokiji makes ice, not fire. Akainu uses magma, not lava, which killed Ace by smothering his flames, not by being hotter.

  • AztecEmperor FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Ok it's cool we are getting more anime. Honestly I love that and make Deathbattle far more interesting for me personally but man I'm just ok on this fight. I get Natsu for being the protagonist but not digging Ace as a character in Deathbattle in the first place. He has a great story and personality but I think for One Piece there are better characters with more to show. I would have preferred Tsuna but you win some and lose some. I hope this gives more opportunities for anime fights.


    Requests:

    Korosensei vs Lord Death 

    Green Hornet and Kato and Lone Ranger and Tonto

    Squirrel Girl vs Saitama 

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Squirrel Girl and Saitama don't belong on Death Battle; one's a joke character and the other is a parody character. The inexplicably unstoppable hero and the bald, walking NLF wouldn't work on the show.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Personally, I think Saitama would be better suited to fight Popeye the Sailor. Both are cartoonishly powerful and do the impossible just by punching people and things.

  • Torru369 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Ace's mother said his name was Gol.D. Ace ya mooks. Ace left it behind to be a Portgas.

  • RDV-1996 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold RDV

    4 months ago

    Natsu will just eat Ace right?

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Ace would have to not only completely turn into fire, but also let Ace eat him. I don't see him doing either.

    • SomeCyborgNinja FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      That's up for debate.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      No, Ace CAN turn into fire, but he isnt constantly fire. He can control when he turns, but either way Natsu has this. Unless for some reason Ace get better hand to hand combat than Natsu, which he shouldnt, then i dont see Ace winning.

    • LOUKI10 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      It would be funny.

    • RDV-1996 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold RDV

      4 months ago

      People saying he only turns into fire when he wants: When you hit him, he'll automatically turn into fire. Unless you use Haki, which Natsu can't. He'll definitely TRY to eat him.


      And Natsu is OP, he won't die from ace's punches, and he's immune to fire.


      And if you're going to say: Luffy ate crocodile and he came back out: Luffy can't digest sand. Natsu digests fire.

  • CSLMuramasa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Demon Blade

    4 months ago

    This is really hard, but I think I'm going to say Natsu. Natsu is fire-proof while Ace is just fire-resistant. It takes a lot to burn him but it can be done. Plus that much heat can actually cancel out some of his abilities. And since Natsu's powers get stronger the more fire he eats he can reach that level. And let's just say that they're both smart enough to realize fire isn't working. Ace without fire is super strong, fast, and durable, but not much else, and I really don't think his Haki will help. Natsu without fire is super strong, fast, and durable, plus he still has lightning magic he can use, which is definitely hot enough to burn Ace. And even if there's a gap in strength and speed like there was with Erza vs Zoro Natsu's dragon mode should be able to close it. That's what I think at least.

    • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      I agree. I think Natsu's superior stats overall and lightning, which, btw, is hotter than the surface of the sun, will give him the win over Ace.

    • _form_the_turtle_ FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Also I don't think Ace actually knows Haki.

    • AztecEmperor FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Form_the_turtle_ Ace used Haki once but it was conquerers and it was only when he was very desperate when he was a kid.

    • CSLMuramasa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Demon Blade

      4 months ago

      @Raxxel Yeah. That was my thinking. As soon as I saw Ace's fire could be neutralized by a superior heat source my first though was "How do fire and lightning compare?" Turns out lightning is 6 times hotter than the hottest fire. Unless I'm seriously misunderstanding one of the characters, which I probably am, I see absolutely no reason why Natsu's Lightning-Flame Dragon Mode and Dragon Force can't completely overwhelm Ace.

    • 8492nd FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Akainu's Magma is way hotter than the real thing, steel swords were instantly vaporized when they were used to cut him. 

    • KFC83384

      4 months ago

      Ace should be completely fireproof, fire isn't the onlyform of heat source, there's lightning & magma and this case Ace was harmed by magma. You are kind of misunderstanding because Magma doesn't beat him due to superior heat, although it can burn him but only because it is overall superior to fire and absolutely destroys it in reality regardless of whether the hottest fire (hotter than magma) go against it, magma will always win. Similar to how rocks would eventually put fire out.

    • 8492nd FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      The other thing Ace's vulnerability to Magma wasn't do to the heat, it was because they were from the same order and Akainu's was superior, so when they clashed his bypassed Ace's Logia defense. It not really explain why this happened, people assumed it was do to heat difference, this was never stated to be the case, I believe it's more akin to the "devil" in the fruit suppressing the weaker one.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      It was kinda said that it was because of the heat because Akainu even said his lava is hot enough to burn even fire. If him saying that isnt proof enough, i dont really know what would be.

  • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Trust me, Boomstick, gun hands aren't worth it.

    • Yoshirocks92

      4 months ago

      Unless you're Aigis from Persona 3 because she's got machine guns in her fingertips.

  • Leinbo FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I want to see Ace win, but given I know both fighters well enough...Yeeeeah, unless they pull something out of their behinds....Ace will not be able to stand up to Natsu's high OP levels lol. And this is in no way bad mouthing either character, I just know Natsu Dragneel Is up there in the top tier OP level for anime characters.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      As long as you have a better reason than "Natsu Eats Ace because I don't know shit about One Piece", then I am okay with your reasons.

    • TKO-san

      4 months ago

      Fairy Tail is generally considered pretty low on the anime scale. Top tier would be stuff like Dragonball Super, Saint Seiya, and the like. Stuff with literal gods blowing up universes. Lower than that would be stuff like Toriko where they can punch out planets. After than you get into the One Piece, Naruto, and Bleach stuff, and then Fairy Tail starts to come around.

    • ElwoodBlues9856

      4 months ago

      Hey now don't be like that.  If Gaara vs Top and Yang vs Tifa have taught us anything it's that death battle is more than capable of pulling things out from their behind. 

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy Natsu wins because he is basically immune to all of Aces abilities, and even makes natsu stronger by getting them. I dont know where people get "natsu can eat ace" from, but pretty much every attack powers natsu up even more. Hand to hand combat, depending on how they do Natsus lightning fire dragon mode, Natsu wins that also. If they dont do anything with the lightning, or that Natsus fire is hotter and can burn Ace, then Ace wins by a land slide. But with the lightning and hotter fire, Natsu wins overall.

  • 8492nd FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I really don't understand this fight, Ace hasn't really gotten much screen time to show his powers, he's supposed to get his backstory fleshed out soon, but the that isn't going to be til July.

    • nooksi28 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold nooksi28

      4 months ago

      And then they can do fight #2 in july.
      Ace is gonna beat the shit outta natsu anyway.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      What? When is Ace getting a story? They already had his background right after he died, where did this new Ace story come from?

  • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I'm looking forward to seeing how this all goes down, as the results could vary wildly depending on how Death Battle interprets Natsu and Ace's powers in relation to each other, but one thing I'm dreading is the inevitable fan reaction no matter who wins or loses.


    Anime fanbases might just be the worst Death Battle has to deal with. No matter the result, the fanbase of the loser will be exceedingly salty, taking their character losing as a personal insult, concocting nonsensical conspiracy theories to try and discredit Death Battle or contribute the loss to anything other than how the analysis panned out, and bitching constantly about it for the next several years.


    On the other side, the fanbase of the winner will become unbearably smarmy and smug, the textbook definition of a sore winner, talking about how "they're glad the other fanbase got humbled" even though nothing of the sort happened, claiming to hate the other for being obnoxious fanboys when they themselves are being obnoxious fanboys.




    I personally will take this one however it falls. Not hugely attached to either character. Just, everyone, be a dear and be civil. I'm fully expecting this to be the most hated battle of the season no matter who wins, quite an accomplishment considering how the season opener was received.




    Personal Suggestions:

    -Gordon Freeman vs Isaac Clarke

    -Scott Pilgrim vs Travis Touchdown

    -Sokka vs Jaune

    -Frog vs Undyne

    -Banjo & Kazooie vs Yooka & Laylee

    • AztecEmperor FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      This guy gets it

    • nooksi28 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold nooksi28

      4 months ago

      Natsu can't "physically" harm Ace.. so Ace wins

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      I like your attitude, Slick.

    • CSLMuramasa FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Demon Blade

      4 months ago

      I used to say "I love anime. I hate anime fans." I can't really say that's true anymore given that lately it feels like creators are going out of their way to pander to whoever's the most vocal.


      Though I feel like your complaint describes most death battles. Death Battle has a pretty bitchy fanbase.

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @CSLMuramasa You're not wrong, but it's been my experience that anime/manga fans tend to have more extreme reactions than other fanbases.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      I have seen hate in many videos non anime related where people complain... Sayings its anime only is ignorant, if your favorite character loses in anything you would be upset, especially when you think he should win.


      @nooksi28 Natsu can injure ace. His fire is hotter, and as it was shown hotter should injure him, also he controls lightning. 

    • Mr_LRB

      4 months ago

      Well said. Personally, I'm a newfound fan of Fairy Tail and know nothing about One Piece, but I can accept it if Ace wins (even though, considering how effing strong Natsu is, I don't think it's too likely.) 

  • 8492nd FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    His mother actually named him Gol D. Ace, but he rejected that name and took his mothers.

  • Tegman FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Can't wait

  • Ustpatrick FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    dont do afro vs samurai Jack it's to one-sided. Instead do Kenshin himura vs afro samurai

  • gaurdianAQ FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    The way I see it, unless Aces haki gives him enough of an edge, then natsu has this in the bag... then again I suppose the only way for natsu to hurt ace is to either make his fire hotter than aces or to literally eat ace...

    • redRhino64 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      ace wasn't hurt by akainus magma because it was hotter than aces fire he got hurt by it because it was a superior DF power than aces DF power.


      Ace is not made of fire he can turn into fire so when natsu tries eats ace he can just turn back to normal.

    • deathreaper7291 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Akainu specifically says "My lava is so hot it can even burn fire". So yes, he got burnt because lava is hotter. And also, Natsu cant eat Ace unless Ace turns into full fire, and for some reason sits there and lets Natsu eat him. Ace is still flesh and blood, but he can turn his body into fire.

  • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Roses are red

    Violets are blue

    This poem doesn't rhyme

    Please do Jason vs Michael this year

    • CSpaDinner FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Roses are red

      Violets are blue

      You know what would be cool?

      This fight right here,

      But thinking ahead

      You know what's also red?

      At the end of the next Death Battle

      When one of the fighters will be dead

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      That's a popular choice

      One best not looked over

      But I feel it's best to wait

      And do it in October