Sub-Zero Slides into DEATH BATTLE!

DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews: Sub-Zero Slides into DEATH BATTLE!

The frosty ninja of the Lin Kuei is ready to prove who's the coolest ice character!

Binge Mode

More DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews

See All DEATH BATTLE Fight Previews Videos

Other Videos You'll Like

Comments (46)

  • SS_Spartacus

    4 months ago

    Totally Spies vs Charlie's Angels

  • Sonicxben FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I don't anything about Glacius, but from what I heard, he might pull a win.  This is the last Death Battle all over again, with Sub-Zero's main attacks being the ones that are canceled out.


    I have another Death Battle suggestion that I would like to see:

    Spartan Jameson Locke (Halo) vs. Chris Redfield (Resident Evil)

  • METAMAN666 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    so was doing an ice battle immediately after a fire battle on purpose or a realy happy accident.

  • DudebladeX FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    It takes over 2500 pounds of force to rip a person's head off. To rip off a person's head with their spine is basically more skill and showing off at that point.


    I looked it up. It was needed to research my johnny Cage Character sheet.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      You know Glacius has the advantage, right?

    • DudebladeX FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81

      Yeah, I know that. I'm just providing information about Subby's (in)famous fatality that people may be curious about.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @DudebladeX


      Yeah, about Sub's spine rip. How do we know he doesn't freeze his victim's neck and spine area to make it easier to remove?

    • MajorM117 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      I suggest you clear your search history

  • RandomChineseGuy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    While an ice battle is only natural to follow a fire one this is the second Mortal Kombat vs Killer Instinct episode; I still like to see a revenge rematch of Fulgure vs Triborg.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      Triborg is literally 3 characters, how is that fair?

  • Gr81

    4 months ago

    Glacius wins this. Sub's ice is useless against Glacius, as Glacius can bend molecular structures to his will. He will literally use Sub's ice to add to his own arsenal.


    Also, like this if you want Smoke (MK) vs Smoker (One Piece)

  • Vergil95 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    sheev palpatine vs Ur-Didact

  • omegajackred666

    4 months ago

    My opinion is this is going to confuse and upset a lot of people I actually see Glacius winning despite Sub-Zero having more feats.

    • Yoshirocks92

      4 months ago

      Yeah I was getting that feeling as well.

  • Big-MikeVG FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Better catch the bear Boomstick.

  • werdman24 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    This is gonna be a close one, but I'm giving the slight edge to Glacius especially given KI's track record on DB compared to MK's.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      MKs been in more fights. Not sure if it's really a fair comparison, and not for the reason you think.

  • Raxxel FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    If Subby Wubby gets the Dragon Medallion, I say he wins. If not... Sorry old pal, I love you, but Glacius would have this :(

  • WheelJackson FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    This is gonna be a close one. But I don't know if Sub-Zero's freezing ability will do much to Glacius, since Glacius is already an ice creature from another planet.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Can Glacius not be frozen? That would make mirror matches really dumb in Killer Instinct.

    • Jokerboxer FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy  I looked at move sets and game play footage, Glacius has no way of freezing his opponents. He can only trap them.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @WheelJackson


      Glacius isn't an ice creature. He's an alien with the ability to bend molecular structures to his will, an ability shared by his kind.


      He uses this ability to create weapons and armor from his surroundings In fact, not all of Glacius' race uses ice. He does because he crash-landed in Antarctica.


      Sub's ice will only strengthen Glacius



    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @Jokerboxer


      In the words of John Cena: Are you sure about that? 

    • Jokerboxer FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81 , Thanks for that footage. It cleared some things up. Yet the biggest factor I want to know is recovery time from being frozen. What you showed me was a finisher. That means Glacius can't recover from that attack; which sounds weird to me. While I think Glacius is still going to win I would like to see game footage of Glacius being frozen mid-battle.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @Jokerboxer, @g1Lizardguy


      There is no footage of Glacius being frozen mid-battle. If there was, then that's a game mechanic. 


      It's actually impossible for Glacius to get frozen as his race can bend molecular structures to their will. Sub's ice will only strengthen Glacius.


      Glacius' race are also telepaths, so Sub will have to deal with mind-reading, too.


      You should read this: http://killerinstinct.wikia.com/wiki/The_Ice-man_Cometh

    • Jokerboxer FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      I've read that. I just figured it is important to calculate recovery time since it Sub-Zero's main attack. I know how Glacius' powers work but what is the speed? Are we to assume his attacks are all the same speed as his control? While the videos are edging towards yes I still like proof that he can unfreeze himself.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81

      I mentioned it before, but that was a recent comment, so I'll say it again here.

      Quan Chi's magic wasn't telepathy, it was resurrecting a dead guy as a zombie slave, corruption at best. Not to mention that not all telepathy instantly means Mind Control. If Glacius has not displayed mind control powers, he will not have it. Plus, since Sub-Zero can shatter his ice at will, Glacius taking it in would just be like putting on a vest made of bombs. When it blows, the wearer is dead.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy


      Glacius proved his telepathic powers in this: http://killerinstinct.wikia.com/wiki/ARIA_for_No%C3%B6morph


      If this link doesn't work, because copy-paste has difficulty with special characters, it's called ARIA for Noomorph (there's an umlaut over the 2nd o in noomorph).


      Anyway, near the end, ARIA goes into Eagle's (Chief Thunder's brother) mind. Keep in mind that Eagle is in stasis and usually unaware of his situation, and ARIA's done this plenty of times before. Only this time, Glacius had contacted Eagle telepathically, manifesting as a bald eagle in Eagle's dream world.


      As far as I know, Eagle isn't telepathic, so to communicate with him, Glacius has to read Eagle's thoughts as well as projecting his own.


      Keep in mind that I said mind-READING, not mind-CONTROL. There's no proof Glacius can control minds, but the link proves he can read them. What's stopping him from reading Sub's and getting the lowdown on things like his Shotokan and Dragon martial arts, and/or what Sub will do next?


      Also, Glacius can alter Sub's ice with his will too, so Glacius still has the advantage in ice control

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81

      Wait, wasn't this argument about Glacius? Who is ARIA? I did not once attribute Scorpion's abilities to Sub-Zero, so I don't think you can do the same. Besides, between his dialogue with Ermac, Kenshi and Takeda in MKX, it seems that Sub-Zero is not easily read. And you kind of heavily implied Mind control.

      And again, Sub-Zero's ice abilities are clearly magic in nature, meaning that adding Sub-Zero's ice to his own could be a death sentence since Magic is not changed by molecules and such. He could shatter it any time.

      Not to mention that Sub-Zero is strong enough to shatter Titanium and Platinum (As evidenced by the Test Your Might Tower in MKX, which they are willing to use for this battle), and can frikken teleport with ease. Maybe I am a bit biased here, but I really don't think it's as clear cut as you believe.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy


      Wow, you completely missed the point.


      That link I provided proved Glacius' telepathic powers (as he was able to contact Eagle in his dream world), and nowhere did I imply mind-control, only mind-reading.


      Btw, ARIA is a highly advanced A.I. in charge of Ultratech who can process, and react to, information in 1 thousandth of a second, that's .001 seconds. Glacius was able to catch her off guard as he took Eagle to safety in ARIA for Noomorph, so there's that.


      And was this dialogue you speak of from the story, or just from random matchups that don't matter?


      I'm afraid you are being a bit biased, and ftr, I'm a huge fan of MK. Been playing since '92

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81


      Dude, catching someone off guard is not that big a feat. Even The Flash can be caught off guard. Besides, you're avoiding one of my biggest arguments. You have not once touched on the magic aspect of Sub-Zero's ice and how he can just shatter it with a thought at any given moment. If Glacius added that ice to his form, it'd be Toph VS Gaara all over again. Wouldn't matter how fast he was, Glacius would go boom.

      I can at least admit my bias. YOU however seem to have trouble admitting your very obvious bias.

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      @g1Lizardguy


      You're forgetting that "someone" is a highly advanced A.I. that reacts much faster than any human


      Also, did you not hear during the preview that Sub freezes the moisture in the air? That implies his ice is actually natural, and he merely makes it cold enough in an area for ice to form naturally.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81

      Again, if Batman can catch the Flash off guard, then Sub-Zero can catch Glacius off guard. Unless you're still on that ARIA thing, in which case, that's not even a feat for Glacius. He got someone when they were distracted, big whoop. Sub-Zero has faced worse head on.


      As for that Moisture thing, explain how there is any moisture in Hell. We know for a fact that's not just a gameplay mechanic.

  • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I hope you're all rating this video as "cool." There truly is no other option for this upcoming fight and its two teasers.


    Backing Sub-Zero on the chance he makes it with his superior speed, mobility and ninja training. And while Glacius is basically a frosty T-1000, I don't see what could keep Subs from freezing him solid, if just for a precious few seconds so he can gain distance. If Subs can keep the distance between him and Glacius he could potentially nickel-and-dime the alien down.


    Though I'm definitely #TeamWhoever on this one. Just give me a stone-cold fight and I'm good. No need for me to chill out.


    Personal Suggestions:

    -Gordon Freeman vs Isaac Clarke

    -Sokka vs Jaune

    -Scott Pilgrim vs Travis Touchdown

    -Frog vs Undyne

    -Banjo & Kazooie vs Yooka & Laylee

    • Gr81

      4 months ago

      You didn't research Glacius at all, did you?


      Glacius is of a psychic alien race that have the ability to bend molecular structures to their will. They use this ability to create armor and weapons from their surroundings to compensate for their rather weak bodies, and it could be literally ANY material: fire, rock, metal, you name it. In fact, the only reason Glacius uses ice is because he crash-landed in Antarctica (and probably because he likes the versatile nature of ice)


      All Sub's ice will do is add to Glacius' arsenal.


      And did I mention he's a telepath, too? That adds a mind-reading issue that Sub has no resistance to, as proven by the fact he was Quan Chi's bitch between MK9 and X, until Raiden reversed Quan Chi's revenant spell


      Read these: http://killerinstinct.wikia.com/wiki/Glacius


      http://killerinstinct.wikia.com/wiki/The_Ice-man_Cometh

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Gr81

      Umm, he was killed and resurrected by Quan Chi's Dark Magic. I mean, unless Glacius has legit mind control powers, I doubt that will really be to Glacius's advantage. Not to mention that Sub-Zero is strong enough to break through the toughest minerals, metals, and woods as seen in Test Your Might (which they proved they are willing to use in the Sonya VS Cammy episode). And with the ability to shatter his own ice at will, Glacius taking Sub-zero's ice as his own may be his death. Kind of like how Toph beat Garra.

      I don't think it's as clear cut as you believe it to be.

  • nicholi417 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I watched the last death battle and thought, maybe they should do the Avatar vs Captain planet.  That would be fantastic.

    • KingJotun FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Captain Planet can only be damaged by pollution, and Aang would never use pollution against a foe because it goes against his monk upbringing. Aang is basically guaranteed to lose, even with all his power.

    • Ustpatrick FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Aang will beat captain planet for one raisin. Captain planet is made of the elements aang could literally rip him apart into his base elements and game over.

    • Animegx43

      4 months ago

      For people who want Aang, may I suggest Aang vs Thrall (Warcraft)

  • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    Soooo, how hard would you have to pull to rip off someone's head with their spine? I mean, that has to be a real feat of strength there. 

    • LostNFound1894 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      VSauce3 has a video of that 

    • Animegx43

      4 months ago

      That's more of a matter of skill then raw strength. There's regular decapitation by ripping the head off really hard, and then there's the spine rip, which is just art.

    • g1Lizardguy FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      @Animegx43 Well, yeah, but you still need the strength to pull the spine off the Hip Bone, rip the flesh of the neck, and pull the spine past the rib cage. I won't deny the skill, but I still believe there must be some immense strength to do. Perhaps Death Battle Winning Strength?

  • CunningOne47 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

    4 months ago

    I'm calling it now, the loser is going to be shattered into tiny pieces in the aftermath.

    • HoffyClan FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold

      4 months ago

      Cold hard facts, m' brotha.